Brian Walker Named NCBWA All-Region Second-Team

Written By: Kyler Ludlow, Sports Information Director

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. – Palm Beach Atlantic second baseman Brian Walker was honored by the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) on Wednesday afternoon with a spot on the All-South Region second-team.

Walker, a Deerfield Beach, Fla. native, put together a tremendous swansong, leading PBA in batting average (.410), on-base percentage (.461), hits (75), stolen bases (29), and hit-by-pitch (14).

The senior was also among the team leaders in runs (35), doubles (11), and runs batted in (31) while helping the Sailfish to the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA) South Region Championship.

Justin Garcia of Nova Southeastern University was named the NCBWA South Region Player of the Year, while Brandon Nagem was named the region’s Pitcher of the Year. Nova Southeastern’s Greg Brown and the University of West Alabama’s Gary Rundles were named Co-Coaches of the Year.

2015 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Team

2015 NCBWA Division II All-South Region First-Team
SP Fernando Gonzalez, West Alabama
SP Brandon Nagem, West Florida
SP Scott Ward, Florida Tech
RP Tanner Rainey, West Alabama
C Austin Allen, Florida Tech
1B Tanner Rainey, West Alabama
2B Hayden Jones, Valdosta State
3B Michael Gouge, Valdosta State
SS Terrence Worthy, Albany State
OF Justin Garcia, Nova Southeastern
OF Jhalan Jackson, Florida Southern
OF Colton Simbeck, Alabama-Huntsville
DH Stephen Dezzi, Tampa #
UT Chandler Brock, Alabama-Huntsville

2015 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Second-Team
SP Ryan Castellanos, Nova Southeastern
SP Mitchell Cody, Valdosta State
SP Daniel Koger, Alabama-Huntsville
RP Zachary Westcott, Nova Southeastern
C Bryant Hayman, Valdosta State $
1B Troy Sieber, Saint Leo
2B Brian Walker, Palm Beach Atlantic
3B Mitch Holgate, West Alabama
SS Tyler Doughty, Florida Tech
OF Jeremy Arrington, Albany State
OF John Borup, Lynn
OF Kevin Cruz, Valdosta State
DH Ryan Barnes, Alabama-Huntsville
UT Brett Jones, Tampa

2015 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Honorable Mention
SP Jorge Cruz, West Alabama 2B Cody deNoyelles, Tampa
3B Ricky Rodriguez, Florida Tech
SS Giovanny Alfonzo, Tampa

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner