Six Sailfish Honored By ICAA

Written By: Kyler Ludlow, Graduate Assistant for Athletic Communications

TIFFIN, Ohio – Palm Beach Atlantic baseball was well represented in the Independents Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) postseason awards on Thursday, with six Sailfish being named to the All-ICAA Team. The ICAA is composed of NCAA Division II schools that are not in a conference.  Baseball members are Bluefield State, Oakland City, Palm Beach Atlantic, Spring Hill and Union.

All awards were selected by ICAA Director, Mike Bond.

Three seniors and three juniors made up the honorees for Palm Beach Atlantic. Ryan Drew, a native of Howell, N.J., stepped in as the everyday first baseman and stepped up at the plate for PBA in his senior season. Drew held a second-best .358 batting average with 23 RBI, 11 doubles and four home runs.

Fellow senior Joel Buchko was the only repeat representative from the 2013 season, being nominated in the At-Large position. The Lancaster, Pa. native hit .308 while alternating between DH and catcher, leading the team in runs batted in with 39 and finishing with four home runs.

Senior backstop Spencer Castro also made the ICAA-Team thanks in large part to a batting average of .318, 22 RBIs, 10 doubles and four home runs. Castro started and played 40 of PBA’s 48 games.

Also honored with a spot on the ICAA-Team was Palm Beach Atlantic’s leading hitter Chris Farrell. The junior finished the year with a .374 average, 34 RBI, 33 runs scored, a team-high 15 doubles and two home runs.

Fellow junior Andres Vazquez earned a spot on the ICAA-Team with his .306 batting average, team-high five home runs, 28 runs scored, 27 runs driven in, and 14 doubles.

Finally, right-hander Ryan Cota was one of five pitchers selected to the ICAA-Team. The Tucson, Ariz. native had a second-best 4.24 earned run average and finished the year with a 3-5 record in 57.1 innings pitched.

The complete list of the ICAA-Team can be found here.

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner