Five Sailfish Honored With ICAA Post Season Awards

Written By: Kyler Ludlow, Graduate Assistant for Athletic Communications

TIFFIN, Ohio – For the second year in a row, Palm Beach Atlantic dominated the Independents Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) post-season awards, with five players being named to the All-ICAA first-team, Lucas Coutinho being named Freshman of the Year, and senior Kenny Hogg being named Player of the Year.

The ICAA is composed of NCAA Division II schools that are not in a conference.  Men’s soccer members are Chowan, Oakland City, Palm Beach Atlantic, South Dakota Mines, Spring Hill, Union and Washington Adventist.

Hogg was named Player of the Year for the second time for Palm Beach Atlantic.  The Irvine, Scotland native scored 24 goals with six assists for 54 points.  He currently leads NCAA Division II in goals per game (1.60) and is second in total goals, total points and points per game (3.60).  Hogg has scored six game winning goals this season.

Coutinho, from Recife, Brazil, was named Freshman of the Year thanks to his nine goals, five assists, and 23 total points.

Joining Hogg and Coutinho on the All-ICAA team were a pair of Sailfish defenders, senior Chris Karafilov and junior Branden Langenberg, and keeper Austin Spagnola.

Karafilov, who was a member of the All-ICAA First Team in 2012, was a mainstay on a tough PBA defensive unit, playing in a team-high 1,268 minutes during the year.

Langenberg, who is also making his second appearance on the All-ICAA First Team, played 1,258 minutes, good for second on the team, and also scored a goal.

Lastly, Spagnola manned the pipes for PBA all season long, posting a 6-3-1 record with two shutouts. The sophomore had a goals against average of 1.87 and made 52 saves during the year.

The 2013 Coach of the Year was awarded to Stephen Peck of Oakland City. The Mighty Oaks went 11-5-1 this season.

Coach of the Year – Stephen Peck – Oakland City
Player of the Year – Kenny Hogg – Palm Beach Atlantic
Freshman of the Year – Lucas Coutinho - Palm Beach Atlantic

 Lucas Coutinho  F Palm Beach Atlantic Fr. Recife, Brazil

 Tyler Hartlage  F Spring Hill Jr. Tampa, Florida

 Kenny Hogg#$  F Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Irvine, Scotland 

 Alex Pratt  F Union Jr. Jackson, Tennessee

 Abanda Nkwanyou  MF Washington Adventist Sr. Hyattsville, Maryland

 Aljosa Stankovic MF Oakland City Jr. Belgrade, Serbia

 Jonathan Stroup  MF Oakland City Jr. Danville, Illinois

 Chris Karafilov$ D Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Oakville, Ontario, Canada

 Branden Langenberg$ D Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Jacksonville, Fla.

 Adam Sell  D Oakland City Sr. Oxford, England

 Austin Spagnola  GK Palm Beach Atlantic So. Valrico, Florida

 $ - First Team in 2012 
 # – First team in 2011

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner