Women's Soccer Lands Five Players on the All-ICAA Postseason Awards List

Written by: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for External Operations

The Sailfish Women's Soccer Team Place Five Players on the All-ICAA Postseason Listing in (L-R) Margaret Stewart, Haily Johnson, Allison Fox, Kierstyn Harrington, Kasey Wyer. Photos Courtesy of: Neil Hayes.The Sailfish Women's Soccer Team Place Five Players on the All-ICAA Postseason Listing in (L-R) Margaret Stewart, Haily Johnson, Allison Fox, Kierstyn Harrington, Kasey Wyer. Photos Courtesy of: Neil Hayes.

TIFFIN, Ohio- The Sailfish women’s soccer team saw five of their players named to this year’s Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) postseason awards listing including four players selected to the All-ICAA first-team. Senior Allison Fox was joined by junior Margaret Stewart and sophomore Kasey Wyer as repeat honorees from last season while junior Kierstyn Harrington and sophomore Haily Johnson were each first-time recipients of the honor.

The ICAA is composed of NCAA Division II schools that are not in a conference.  Women’s soccer members are Chowan University, Lincoln College, Oakland City University, Palm Beach Atlantic, Spring Hill College, Union University and Washington Adventist.

Fox was joined by Harrington, Stewart and Wyer on the All-ICAA first-team while Johnson was selected to the All-ICAA second-team.

Fox closed out her regular season as a four-year starter in goal for PBA and put together another fine season between the pipes. She totaled eight shutouts and a 1.34 goals against average while helping lead the Sailfish to an 8-6-2 regular season mark.

Harrington made a nice impact in her first season with PBA after transferring from the College of DuPage by leading the team with nine goals and chipping in two assists for a total of 20 points. Wyer backed up her solid freshman campaign with an even better second season by pacing the PBA attack with 10 assists, adding in seven goals, and leading the team with 24 total points.

Stewart put together another strong showing on the defensive backline for PBA with 1,468 minutes played while aiding the PBA defense with a 1.34 goals against average for the season.

Well on her way to a potentially breakout campaign was Haily Johnson before an injury derailed an otherwise promising start. She still managed to put in six goals and add two assists in just 11 starts before being sidelined.

ICAA Coach of the Year went to Dave Morris of Oakland City.  The Lady Oaks started out 0-4 and then won 10 straight to finish 10-5, one point out of first.  Morris is 19-22-4 in three years at OCU.

Player of the Year was forward Carmen Van Winkle of Oakland City.  She had 20 goals with eight assists for 48 points in 15 games.  She had eight game-winning goals and leads the country in goals and points per game (1.33, 3.20).  Van Winkle is also third in DII for total goals and points.

Freshman of the Year was Christian Harris of Lincoln.  Harris, a forward, had 19 goals with two assists for 40 points in 15 games.  She is ranked third in NCAA DII for goals per game (1.27) and points per game (2.67).



    Kierstyn Harrington               F    Palm Beach Atlantic                    Jr.        Downers Grove, Illinois

    Christian Harris                       F    Lincoln                                          Fr.        Rochester, New York

    Darby Rasch                            F    Spring Hill                                     Fr.        Madison, Alabama

    Carmen Van Winkle#$          F    Oakland City                                Sr.        Bretzville, Indiana

    Courtney Harlan                 MF    Spring Hill                                    So.        Mobile, Alabama     

    Tara O’Brien$                      MF    Lincoln                                         So.        Twickenham, London, UK

    Kasey Wyer @                      MF    Palm Beach Atlantic                  So.        Greer, South Carolina

     Haley Funderburg                  D    Spring Hill                                      Jr.        Pell City, Alabama

    Margaret Stewart $               D    Palm Beach Atlantic                    Jr.        Bedford, New Hampshire

     Hannah Tupman                    D    Oakland City                                Fr.        Covington, Kentucky

     Allison Fox $                          GK    Palm Beach Atlantic                    Jr.        Naperville, Illinois

     Emily Karns                           GK    Oakland City                               So.        Evansville, Indiana

    # - All-ICAA First Team – 2011

    $ - All-ICAA First Team - 2012

    @ - All-ICAA Second Team - 2012


    Sidi Genus                                F    Spring Hill                                    So.        Great Bay, Jamaica

    Haily Johnson                          F    Palm Beach Atlantic                  So.        Miami, Florida

    Mary Lee                                  F    Oakland City                                Fr.        St. Louis, Missouri

    Jamie Townley                        F    Spring Hill                                     Fr.        Pace, Florida

    Erin Claxton                         MF    Spring Hill                                      Jr.        Calgary, Alberta, Canada

    Christina Haag$                  MF    Oakland City                               So.        Sullivan, Indiana

    Allie Schechner                   MF    Oakland City                               So.        Wading River, New York

    Kaitlyn Eichorst                      D    Spring Hill                                     Fr.        Cave Creek, Arizona

    Madison Purdy                       D    Union                                           So.        Prosper, Texas

    Emily Woodruff                     D    Lincoln                                         So.        San Diego, California

    $ - All-ICAA First Team - 2012

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner