Kovacs Named to the NCBWA All-Region Second Team

Written by: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for Communications

Nic Kovacs (Pictured) Adds to His Postseason Awards List with an All-Region Distinction from the NCBWA. Photo Courtesy of: Damon Higgins. Nic Kovacs (Pictured) Adds to His Postseason Awards List with an All-Region Distinction from the NCBWA. Photo Courtesy of: Damon Higgins.

PENSACOLA, Fla.- Senior right-hander Nic Kovacs collected another postseason honor on Monday as he was named to the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) All-Region second-team as the experienced hurler wrapped up a solid two-year baseball career at Palm Beach Atlantic. The All-Region nod is the second in the past few days as he was also selected to the Daktronics All-Region second-team as well.

The unquestioned ace of the Sailfish pitching staff this season, Kovacs finished with an impressive 7-5 record while maintain a 1.98 earned-run average.

The Clermont, Fla. native posted a South Region best eight complete games while serving as the team’s regular Friday night starter as a senior. He completed 104.2 innings pitched in his 13 starts while compiling an eye-popping 62:11 strikeout to walk ratio.

Chandler Brock of Delta State University and Jake Stephens of the University of West Florida were named the South Region Player and Pitcher of the Year respectively. Mike Kinnison collected his second straight NCBWA Region Coach of the Year distinction.

2013 NCBWA Division II All-South Region Team

Player of the Year
Chandler Brock, Alabama-Huntsville

Pitcher of the Year
Jake Stephens, West Florida

Coach of the Year
Mike Kinnison, Delta State

First Team
SP Josh Branstetter, Delta State
SP Michael Manley, Delta State
SP Jamie Sexton, West Georgia
SP Jake Stephens, West Florida
RP Mike Adams, Tampa
C Bryant Hayman, Valdosta State
1B Jason Matusick, Lynn
2B Adrian English, Barry
3B Tyler Aldridge, Delta State
SS Lydell Moseby, Benedict
SS Jacob Tillotson, Tampa
OF Chandler Brock, Alabama-Huntsville
OF Michael Danner, Tampa
OF Taed Moses, Saint Leo
DH Ben Kingsley, Delta State

Second Team
SP Matt Abramson, Tampa
SP Andrew Busby, Alabama-Huntsville
SP Nic Kovacs, Palm Beach Atlantic
SP Jed Vandernaald, Lynn
RP James Mannara, Florida Tech
C Austin Allen, Florida Tech
1B David Weber, Benedict
2B Kaleb Barlow, West Florida
2B Tyler Ding, Tampa
3B Cash Oliver, Tuskegee
SS Carlos Asuaje, Nova Southeastern
OF Jocquese Brunson, Benedict
OF Drew Prichard, West Florida
OF Jake Ward, North Alabama
DH Dylan Boston, North Alabama

Honorable Mention
SP Jason Boyer, Florida Tech
SP Pete Whittingslow, Valdosta State
RP Benjamin Weil, Valdosta State
1B Michael Revell, Saint Leo
OF Jordan Chovanec, Delta State
OF Connor Obrochta, Tampa

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner