Sailfish Dominate ICAA Men's Soccer Awards

Written By: Kyler Ludlow, Graduate Assistant for Athletic Communications

TIFFIN, Ohio – The Palm Beach Atlantic men’s soccer team dominated the Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) post-season awards announced on Saturday, winning two individual awards while garnering six total All-ICAA selections.

Head coach Jose Gomez was honored as the Coach of the Year after leading PBA to a 13-3 regular season record.

Junior striker Kenny Hogg was recognized as the 2012 ICAA Player of the Year. Kenny tallied 25 goals with two assists for a 52 point total. He leads the NCAA Division II in goals scored, goals per match, total points, and points per match. Hogg was also a First Team ICAA member in 2011.

Joining Hogg on the ICAA First Team were forward Evan Singlar and defenders Chris Karafilov and Branden Langenberg, giving the Sailfish four players on the first team. Singlar finished the year on a high note, scoring all five of his goals in the last four matches. He leads the team with an outstanding 11 assists, finishing the regular season with 21 total points. Karafilov and Langenberg were central figures of a defensive corps that allowed just 17 goals all season. Karafilov also added a pair of goals to go along with his team-leading 1,350 minutes.

Palm Beach Atlantic also had two representatives on the ICAA Second Team in senior Lewis Thompson and sophomore AJ Black. It marks the second straight season for both Thompson and Black as members of the ICAA postseason squad. Thompson, a 2011 First Team selection, was the center of that solid defensive Sailfish unit, logging 1,221 minutes on the season. Black, a repeat Second Team performer, finished third on the team in points scored with 11, tallying four goals and three assists on the year.

The Sailfish return to the pitch on Wednesday, November 14th to take part in the National Christian College Athletic Association South Regional tournament.

Coach of the Year – Jose Gomez – Palm Beach Atlantic
Player of the Year – Erik Beattie – Palm Beach Atlantic
Freshman of the Year – Mehmet Dogan – Salem International & Nico Gercke – Oakland City



Kenny Hogg F Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Irvine, Scotland
Jose Huergo F Salem International Fr. Gijon, Spain
Nick Little F Oakland City Sr. Renfrewshire, Scotland
Evan Singlar F Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Currituck, North Carolina
Mehmet Dogan MF Salem International Fr. Konstanz, Germany
Nico Gercke MF Oakland City Fr. Wahrenholz, Germany
Dale Pearson MF Chowan Fr. London, England
Joel Calvillo D Salem International Fr. Norcross, Georgia
Chris Karafilov D Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Branden Langenberg D Palm Beach Atlantic So. Jacksonville, Florida
Elliot Cook GK Salem International Fr. Nottingham, England


Kyle Christiansen F Washington Adventist So. Reading, Pennsylvania
Dexter Kelly F Washington Adventist Fr. Landover, Maryland
Mike McGraw F South Dakota Mines Fr. Vandalia, Ohio
Dwayne Phidd F Salem International Sr. St. Thomas, Jamaica
Alan Adeleke MF Washington Adventist Sr. Memphis, Tennessee
AJ Black MF Palm Beach Atlantic So. Plant City, Florida
Antonio Carrabotta MF Chowan Fr. Chester, Virginia
Jared Contreras D Daemen Jr. Arcadia, California
Ian Glover D Oakland City Fr. Oxford, England
Lewis Thompson D Palm Beach Atlantic, Sr. London, England

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner