Pippin Highlights Four All-ICAA Selections for Palm Beach Atlantic Softball

Written By: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for Athletic Communications

The Sailfish Softball Program Saw Four of its Players Recognized by the ICAA. (Clock-Wise) Mary Pippin, Kara Anderson, Camille Benito and Lisa Santos. The Sailfish Softball Program Saw Four of its Players Recognized by the ICAA. (Clock-Wise) Mary Pippin, Kara Anderson, Camille Benito and Lisa Santos.

TIFFIN, Ohio- The Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) announced their annual award winners on Wednesday for the sport of softball with Palm Beach Atlantic landing four players on the All-ICAA teams. Junior Mary Pippin was the lone All-ICAA first-team selection for PBA while also being named Co-Pitcher of the Year while Kara Anderson, Camille Benito and Lisa Santos all earned All-ICAA second-team honors.

The ICAA is composed of NCAA Division II schools that are not in a conference.  Softball members are the University of Central Oklahoma, Lindenwood University, Malone University, Northeastern State University, Notre Dame College, Oakland City University, Palm Beach Atlantic, Salem International University, Urbana University, Ursuline College and Washington Adventist University.

The ICAA Pitcher of the Year honor for Pippin marks the fifth straight season that a Sailfish hurler has received the honor dating back to Chris Donovan (2011) and Ashley Jones (2008-10).

Pippin finished 17-11 in the circle for the Sailfish who as a team were 30-21 for the season. The Bonifay, Florida native was in her first season for the Fish following a two-year career at Alabama Southern Community College. She would close out the 2012 season with a 2.10 earned-run average in 31 appearances (28 starts) while posting 22 complete games and five shutouts in 183 innings pitched.

She also tallied 166 strikeouts with 31 walks during the season.

Joining Pippin on the listing were three players who anchored the right-side of the field with Anderson in right-field, Benito at first-base and Santos at second-base.

Anderson was a transfer from Indian River State College and shined as the team’s leadoff hitter in her first year with the team as she finished with a solid .328 batting average in 50 games while stealing a PBA-record 35 stolen-bases in 37 attempts. Anderson scored 40 runs to lead the team while adding in six triples and 17 runs batted in.

Benito proved to have a breakout season at first-base and as the team’s regular cleanup hitter. The Miami, Florida product swung the bat well as evidenced by her .351 batting average in 50 games including team-best numbers in homeruns (6), runs batted in (37), total bases (75) and walks (20). She would also make only one error in the field in over 250 defensive chances.

Santos was a key addition to the Sailfish lineup as well after playing at Monroe Community College as a sophomore. Her .366 batting average led the team while also posting 31 runs batted in, eight doubles and two homeruns.

Coach of the Year went to Genny Stidham of Central Oklahoma.  The Bronchos were the ICAA champions and are currently 42-6.  COU won the South Central Region II and will face Angelo State in a super regional, May 11-12.  Stidham is 420-275-2 in 15 years with the Bronchos.

Player of the Year was Nathalie Timmermans of Central Oklahoma.  The catcher had nine doubles and 21 home runs, scored 65 runs, drove in 63 runs, had a .957 slugging percentage and batted .443.  Timmermans leads the country in runs and home runs per game and is third in total home runs.

Pitcher of the Year was shared by Pippin and Rachael Steverson of Central Oklahoma.  Steverson was 21-4 with 14 complete games and six shutouts, struck out 94 batters for a 2.71 ERA in 147.3 innings.

Freshman of the Year went to Desi Givens of Malone.  The infielder had 15 doubles and four home runs, scored 22 runs, drove in 28 runs, had a .728 slugging percentage and batted .466.  Givens is ranked third in doubles per game and seventh in batting average.

Coach of the Year
– Genny Stidham – Central Oklahoma
Player of the Year – Nathalie Timmermans – Central Oklahoma
Pitcher of the YearMary Pippin – Palm Beach Atlantic & Rachael Steverson – Central Oklahoma
Freshman of the Year – Desi Givens – Malone


 Nathalie Timmermans C Central Oklahoma Sr. Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
 Kacie Edwards INF Central Oklahoma Jr. Yukon, Oklahoma
 Desi Givens INF Malone Fr. Louisville, Ohio
 Ashley Skinner INF Urbana So. Beavercreek, Ohio
 Megan Whitmire INF Central Oklahoma Sr. Del City, Oklahoma
 Kaylee Brunson OF Central Oklahoma Fr. Tuttle, Oklahoma
 Kayce Raines OF Central Oklahoma Sr. Choctaw, Oklahoma
 Megan Turner OF Notre Dame College Fr. Defiance, Ohio
 Hayley Wilson UTL Salem International Jr. Lake Mary, Florida
 Cayce Coleman P Northeastern State Jr. Red Oak, Oklahoma
 Mary Pippin P Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Bonifay, Florida
 Rachael Steverson P Central Oklahoma Sr. Yukon, Oklahoma

 Megan Risner C Urbana Sr. Urbana, Ohio
 Kristen Atzenhoefer INF Malone Sr. Galloway, Ohio
 Camille Benito INF Palm Beach Atlantic So. Miami, Florida
 Katie Mangold INF Salem International So. Kearneysville, West Virginia
 Lisa Santos INF Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Rochester, New York
 Kara Anderson OF Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Moore Haven, Florida
 Megan Lane OF Malone Sr. Hilliard, Ohio
 Rachel Powers OF Northeastern State Sr. Caddo Mills, Texas
 Sarah Cooley UTL Washington Adventist Jr. Bel Air, Maryland
 Samantha Roberts UTL Ursuline Fr. Euclid, Ohio
 Chelsey Anderson P Urbana Fr. Springfield, Ohio
 Lisa Couturier P Salem International Jr. Orleans, Ontario, Canada
 Haley Kolmerten P Urbana So. West Lafayette, Ohio

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner