Valentine and Marcus Hardy Chosen to ICAA Postseason List

Written By: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for Athletic Communications

TIFFIN, Ohio- All nine schools were represented on the 2011-12 All-Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) men’s basketball postseason team. Two Palm Beach Atlantic University players were recognized for their solid season efforts as junior Dante Valentine was selected to the All-ICAA Second Team while freshman Marcus Hardy was chosen to the All-ICAA Freshmen Team.

The ICAA is made up of Independent institutions that do not hold membership in a conference throughout the NCAA Division II ranks. Those competing in women’s basketball are Black Hills State University, the University of Central Oklahoma, Central State University, Lindenwood University, Notre Dame College, Oakland City University, Palm Beach Atlantic, Urbana University and Washington Adventist University.
Having just completed his third season in a PBA uniform, Valentine took on the reigns of the team’s leading scorer after filling a complimentary role in his first two seasons.

The Atlanta, Georgia native finished with 13.8 points per game while leading the team in rebounding from the point guard position at 5.8 rebounds per ballgame as well. Adept at defense as well as his offensive skills, Valentine also led the team with 75 steals (3.1 per game) and 2.5 assists per game.

Hardy made his presence felt from the on-set of the season by claiming a starting position on opening night. The 6’7” forward from Detroit, Michigan excelled in his first season wearing the Blue and White by providing an offensive spark and the ability to stretch the floor with his wingspan and athleticism.

Hardy finished third on the team by scoring nine points per game while finishing with a team-best 44.5 percent shooting percentage. He would also add in 5.6 rebounds per contest to finish shortly behind Valentine on the team leader board.

Player of the Year honors for the ICAA went to Greg Rice, a senior from Central State University. Rice averaged 21.5 points, 6.2 rebounds and 1.5 steals per ballgame while shooting 52.5 percent from the floor and 75.4% from the foul line.

Freshman of the Year went to Marcquice Taylor of Notre Dame College while Brad Soderberg of Lindenwood University was named the ICAA Coach of the Year.

Coach of the Year – Brad Soderberg – Lindenwood
Player of the Year – Greg Rice – Central State
Freshman of the Year – Marcquice Taylor – Notre Dame College


 Alex Bazzell G Lindenwood Jr. St. Charles, Missouri
 Marcus Coleman G/F Washington Adventist Sr. Flint, Michigan
 Greg Rice G Central State Sr. Covington, Kentucky
 Kramer Soderberg G Lindenwood Sr. St. Charles, Missouri
 Mitch Stahl G Oakland City Jr. Spencer, Indiana

 Brent Friday G Central Oklahoma Sr. Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
 Rob Johnson F Black Hills State Sr. Dayton, Wyoming
 Jamie Newton G Washington Adventist Sr. Laurel, Maryland
 Marcquice Taylor G Notre Dame College Fr. Columbus, Ohio
 Dante Valentine G Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Atlanta, Georgia

 Phil Biggs C Notre Dame College Sr. Byesville, Ohio
 Gerald Campbell F Central State Sr. Gary, Indiana
 Maurice Fuller G Oakland City Fr. Westfield, Indiana
 Sharif Muhammad G/F Urbana Sr. Brooklyn, New York
 Brandon Washington F Washington Adventist Sr. Laurel, Maryland

 Brody Brisk G Black Hills State Fr. Rapid City, South Dakota
 Maurice Fuller G Oakland City Fr. Westfield, Indiana
 Marcus Hardy F Palm Beach Atlantic Fr. Detroit, Michigan
 Joey Mitchell G Black Hills State Fr. Tulare, South Dakota
 Marcquice Taylor G Notre Dame College Fr. Columbus, Ohio

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner