Jackson and Kong Named to ICAA Postseason Award List

Written By: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for Athletic Communications

TIFFIN, Ohio- The Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) released their annual award winners for men’s and women’s basketball earlier this week with a pair of Palm Beach Atlantic women’s players named to the list. Seniors Selethia Jackson and Jordan Kong were both selected with Jackson named to the All-ICAA Second Team and Kong named to the Third Team.

The ICAA is made up of Independent institutions that do not hold membership in a conference throughout the NCAA Division II ranks. Those competing in women’s basketball are Black Hills State University, the University of Central Oklahoma, Central State University, Lindenwood University, Notre Dame College, Palm Beach Atlantic, Urbana University, Ursuline College and Washington Adventist University.

For Jackson this is the second straight year she has been named a member of the All-ICAA award listing as she was a Third-Team selection following the 2010-11 season. This season’s selection for Kong is her first time on the All-ICAA postseason team.

A native of Riviera Beach, Florida, Jackson consistently improved her all-around game throughout her four-year career in a Sailfish uniform. She would save her best results for her final season in 2011-12 when she led the team in scoring, steals and blocks while finishing second on the team in rebounding.

The versatile 6’0” forward posted a season total of 13.1 points per game while shooting nearly 40 percent from the field. She would add in 7.7 rebounds per contest while posting impressive totals of 64 steals (2.5 per game) and 57 blocked shots (2.2 per game).

Kong was a starter at the shooting guard position for head coach Clarisse Garcia and like Jackson showed significant improvement throughout her playing career donning the Blue and White.

In her final season, Kong finished second on the team in scoring with 10.8 points per game while knocking down a team-high 59 three-pointers.

Not only dangerous as an outside threat, Kong also showed advancement as a ball-handler and in durability as she dished out 2.2 assists per game while playing a team-high 35.7 minutes per contest.

All five members of the All-ICAA First Team and all four individual award winners came from schools in Ohio while Urbana led the way with four selections as a team.

Player of the Year honors went to Katie Capello of Ursuline. She averaged 15.6 points per game, 6.38 rebounds and blocked 1.1 shots per game while shooting 50.5 percent from the floor.

Freshman of the Year was split between Ciara Geiger of Urbana and Martha Nagbe of Notre Dame College. Maria Marshesano of Urbana earned Coach of the Year honors.

Coach of the Year – Maria Marchesano – Urbana
Player of the Year – Katie Capello - Ursuline
Freshmen of the Year – Ciara Geiger – Urbana & Martha Nagbe – Notre Dame College


 Laura Campbell F Ursuline Jr. Toledo, Ohio
 Katie Capello G Ursuline So. Canton, Ohio
 Ciara Geiger G Urbana Fr. Fort Wayne, Indiana
 Martha Nagbe G Notre Dame College Fr. Lakewood, Ohio
 Andrea Vogel C Urbana Jr. Bluffton, Indiana

 Caroline Bourlioux C Lindenwood So. Banneux, Belgium
 Savannah Hamilton G Central Oklahoma Jr. Preston, Oklahoma
 Selethia Jackson F Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Riviera Beach, Florida
 Marissa Lehnig G Lindenwood So. Imperial, Missouri
 Iniquia Snell G Central State So. Detroit, Michigan

 Regina Allen G Central State So. Cincinnati, Ohio
 Tanija Beasley G/F Central State Jr. Gahanna, Ohio
 Chelsea Jones G Oakland City Fr. Austin, Indiana
 Jordan Kong G Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Sanford, Florida
 Kristi Ryan G Black Hills State Sr. Highmore, South Dakota
 Sarah Schneiders F Lindenwood Jr. St. Peters, Missouri

 Katy Barkley G Urbana Fr. Olivet, Michigan
 Ciara Geiger G Urbana Fr. Fort Wayne, Indiana
 Chelsea Jones G Oakland City Fr. Austin, Indiana
 Martha Nagbe G Notre Dame College Fr. Lakewood, Ohio
 Brooke Trauthwein F Ursuline Fr. Dayton, Ohio

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner