Lawrence and Wood Named to the All-ICAA Team

Written By: Michael Brown, Assistant A.D. for Athletic Communications

David Wood (Left) and Jonathan Lawrence (Right) Were Both Named to the All-ICAA 2nd-Team for the 2010-11 Season. David Wood (Left) and Jonathan Lawrence (Right) Were Both Named to the All-ICAA 2nd-Team for the 2010-11 Season.

HOLLY, Mich.- The Independent Collegiate Athletic Association (ICAA) named two Palm Beach Atlantic University men’s basketball players to its annual All-ICAA listing this past week with two Sailfish senior guards honored with spots on the 2nd-Team. Jonathan Lawrence and David Wood both performed very well throughout the season as they were selected to the listing that represents NCAA Division II Independent institutions around the United States.

The ICAA is made up of all NCAA Division II Independent institutions with the 2010-11 membership consisting of PBA, North Greenville University, Oakland City University, Urbana University, the University of District of Columbia, and Washington Adventist University.

Lawrence capped a fantastic four-year career with the Sailfish by averaging career-highs in a number of statistical categories for the Sailfish while also leading the team to some impressive NCAA Division II wins as well as a win over Stetson University, a NCAA Division I member.

Lawrence finished second on the team in scoring at 17.2 points per game while pacing the squad in shooting percentage and minutes per game at 45.6% and 34.1 minutes per game respectively. A solid all-around offensive and defensive player, Lawrence added in 4.7 rebounds, 2.3 assists, and 1.2 steals per game in addition to his solid scoring marks.

While he was only a Sailfish for one season, Wood certainly made his impact felt as he paced the team in scoring with 19.8 points per game while adding in 4.9 rebounds, 2.4 assists, and 1.7 steals per ballgame. Perhaps his most impressive statistic came in that he scored in double-figures in 24 of the team’s 25 games while posting a career-high of 36 points at Eckerd College on November 16th, 2010.

The Fish finished with a 12-13 overall record under fourth-year head coach Terry Primm.
North Greenville University’s Paul Harrison won his second straight NCAA Division II Independent Player of the Year honor today, as announced by ICAA Director Mike Bond. Harrison’s Crusaders set a school record for wins and took home the D-II Independent team title, and NGU Head Coach Chad Lister was named the Independent Coach of the Year.

Harrison, a junior forward for the 22-7 Crusaders, earned his second straight Independent Player of the Year award after averaging team-highs of 18.2 points and 8.6 rebounds per game.  He shot 61.8% from the field for the Crusaders.  As a freshman, Harrison was named the 2008-09 Independent Freshman of the Year after averaging 16 points and 9.3 rebounds per contest on 57.3% shooting. 

The 2010-11 Independent Freshman of the Year is Oakland City University’s Yancey Duckett.  The 6-4 guard edged teammate Billy Newton, along with three others for the top spot by averaging 7.5 points, 4.2 assists, 3.9 rebounds and 2.2 steals per game for the 20-12 Mighty Oaks.  Duckett also shot 50% from the field, including 41.9% from the behind the arc, in his first 29 games as a collegian. 

NGU’s Coach Lister led the Crusaders to a school record for wins in his 9th season.  He has increased the number of wins in 7 of his 9 seasons at the helm, and his squad outscored their opponents by more than 13 points per game this season on 49.9% shooting.  The 2010-11 season was the Crusaders last as an NCAA D-II Independent, as they are set to join Conference Carolinas next season. 

Below are the final standings, along with all of the 2010-11 NCAA D-II Men’s Basketball All-Independent Team selections.

2010-11 Men’s Basketball Final Standings
1. North Greenville University (22-7, .759)
2. Oakland City University (20-12, .625)
3. Central State University (14-12, .538)
4. Palm Beach Atlantic University (12-13, .480)
5. University of the District of Columbia (11-15, .423)
6. Washington Adventist University (10-18, .357)
7. Urbana University (9-17, .346)

Coach of the Year – Chad Lister – North Greenville
Player of the Year – Paul Harrison – North Greenville
Freshman of the Year – Yancey Duckett – Oakland City

Nigel Munson – Univ. of D.C.^ JR G Washington D.C.
Brandon Herbert - Univ. of D.C. JR G Baltimore, Maryland
Rob Wilson – Urbana SO F Streetsboro, Ohio
Paul Harrison – North Greenville!! JR F Alpharetta, Georgia
Greg Rice – Central State JR F Covington, Kentucky

Wesley Jones – Central State SR G Maysville, Kentucky
Jonathan Lawrence – Palm Beach Atlantic SR G Miami Gardens, Florida
Jared Maners – Oakland City! SR G Spencer, Indiana
Jamie Newton – Washington Adventist SR G Laurel, Maryland
David Wood – Palm Beach Atlantic SR G Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Gerald Campbell – Central State JR F Gary, Indiana
Luke Lattimer – North Greenville JR F South Bend, Indiana
Khalid Martin – Washington Adventist^ SR F Washington D.C.
Sharif Muhammad Jr. – Urbana JR F Brooklyn, New York
Eric Peguero – Washington Adventist SR G Silver Spring, Maryland

! – Past First Team Selections
# - Past Second Team Selections
^ - Past Third Team Selections

Philip Izevbehai – Univ. of D.C. FR G Long Island, New York
Ziad Ashmawy – Univ. of D.C. FR F Cairo, Egypt
Chris Dean – North Greenville FR G Greer, South Carolina
Yancey Duckett – Oakland City FR G Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Billy Newton – Oakland City FR F Centerpoint, Indiana

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner