Jones Named Daktronics All-American Honorable Mention

Written By: Michael Brown, PBA Sports Information Director

Ashley Jones (Pictured) Becomes the First PBA Student-Athlete Named to a Daktronics All-American Listing. Photo Courtesy of: Lori Richards. Ashley Jones (Pictured) Becomes the First PBA Student-Athlete Named to a Daktronics All-American Listing. Photo Courtesy of: Lori Richards.

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla.- After receiving the honor of being the program’s first Daktronics All-Region selection a few weeks ago, Palm Beach Atlantic University softball pitcher Ashley Jones has now been honored as a Daktronics All-American Honorable Mention selection. The senior from Jensen Beach, Florida has closed out her collegiate softball career as arguably the most decorated player ever to come through the program.

This latest accolade for Jones joins a long list of accomplishments for the 5’5” right-hander and former Jensen Beach High School standout. The single-season and career leader in nearly every statistical category in the Sailfish record books, Jones closed out her four-year career wearing the Blue and White with an outstanding senior campaign as she finished 24-9 with 11 shutouts, 309 total strikeouts and a microscopic 1.05 earned-run average over the course of 233.1 innings pitched.

Eligible for the Daktronics All-American selection after being named to the South Region 1st-Team, Jones essentially placed herself in the top-10 of all NCAA Division II pitchers by season’s end. The Daktronics awards are voted on by the Sports Information Directors at each institution.

Sarah Phillips of the University of North Georgia was named the Ron Lenz National Pitcher of the Year while Miranda Campbell, a senior third-baseman from Emporia State, was named the Ron Lenz Player of the Year.

Other South Region representatives included Becca Tipton of UAM and Hayley Chambers of Ouachita Baptist making the 1st-Team, Shannon Miles of West Florida making the 2nd-Team, as well as Kirsten Frame and Lauren Lopez of Rollins College and Nova Southeastern respectively making the 3rd-Team. Jones was joined on the Honorable Mention listing by Kayla Jackson of UAM, Brittany Gross of Lynn University, and Jessica Hernandez of Nova Southeastern.

Jones was an integral part in helping lead the Sailfish to their first-ever appearance in a NCAA Division II postseason event as the Fish were named the #6-seed at the NCAA South Sub-Region tournament on the campus of #1-seed Valdosta State University in Valdosta, Georgia.

The Fish made their way to the sub-regional final against #2-ranked Valdosta State who would defeat PBA in two classic games after the underdog-Sailfish had knocked off the mighty Blazers earlier in the tournament. Jones started all four games of the regional, tallying 30 innings in the circle while allowing only six earned runs and 14 hits while striking out 33 batters.

VSU would advance to the NCAA Division II College World Series two weeks later after beating the University of Arkansas-Monticello in the Super Regional. The Blazers held up their #2-national ranking as they made the College World Series final only to lose to eventual champion Hawaii Pacific.

A magical senior season, Jones closed out her Sailfish pitching career with a total record of 73-41 which included 95 career complete games, 33 shutouts, and 136 career appearances in the circle. Jones managed 799 innings pitched while striking out an astonishing 979 batters.


Ron Lenz National Pitcher of the Year- Sarah Phillips, North Georgia
Ron Lenz National Player of the Year- Miranda Campbell, Emporia State

First Team

P Casey Hanes Sr. Wayne State (Mich.) Richmond, Va.
P Sherise Musquiz Sr. Hawaii Pacific Pico Rivera, Calif.
P Sarah Phillips Jr. North Georgia Powell, Ohio
C Becca Tipton Sr. Arkansas-Monticello Dermott, Ark.
1B Kyrie Timbrook Sr. Caldwell College Los Gatos, Calif.
2B Alix Dean Jr. Angelo State (Texas) Collinsville, Texas
3B Miranda Campbell Sr. Emporia State (Kan.) Bogata, Texas
SS Samantha Ingersoll Sr. West Chester (Mass.) Ashburn, Va.
OF Teddy Barry Jr. Grand Canyon (Ariz.) Phoenix, Ariz.
OF Haley Chambers Sr. Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) Booneville, Ark.
OF Katelyn Lovato Fr. Adams State (Colo.) Northglenn, Colo.
DP Stephanie Tarango Fr. Dowling (N.Y.) Fontana, Calif.
UT Lindsey Slocum Jr. Nebraska-Omaha Omaha, Neb.

Second Team

P Shavaun Fisher Jr. Bloomsburg (Pa.) Coplay, Pa.
P Breanne Gleason Sr. New Haven (Conn.) Bristol, Conn.
P Emlyn Knerem So. Ashland (Ohio) Brunswick, Ohio
C Kelsey Thompson Sr. Minnesota State Blue Earth, Minn.
1B Shannon Miles Sr. West Florida Shreveport, La.
2B Laura Voyles Sr. North Georgia Powder Springs, Ga.
3B Tara Mickelson Sr. Metro State (Colo.) Wheat Ridge, Colo.
SS Kat Rivers Jr. Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.) Royston, Ga.
OF Alison Allen So. Wayne State (Mich.) Redford, Mich.
OF Kris Lesovsky Jr. California-San Diego Simi Valley, Calif.
OF Danielle Monson Sr. Central Washington Marysville, Wash.
DP Logan Hursey So. Ashland (Ohio) Mentor, Ohio
UT Kelsey Haupert Jr. Central Washington Olympia, Wash.

Third Team

P Torie Bunzell Jr. Quincy (Ill.) Utica, Ill.
P Kirsten Frame Fr. Rollins (Fla.) Palm Bay, Fla.
P Katie Petersen Sr. Midwestern State (Texas) Plano, Texas
C Brittnie Boerema So. St. Joseph's (Ill.) Manhattan, Ill.
1B Kristen Drage Jr. Missouri S&T Morganfield, Ky.
2B Lauren Medeiros Fr. Assumption (Mass.) Seekonk, Mass.
3B Jessica Guertin So. Hillsdale (Mich.) Lancaster, Calif.
SS Lauren Lopez Sr. Nova Southeastern (Fla.) Miami, Fla.
OF Billie Callahan Sr. Texas Woman's Austin, Texas
OF Lauren Dykes Fr. North Georgia Dallas, Ga.
OF Jayme Hefler Fr. Lewis (Ill.) Glen Ellyn, Ill.
DP Leslee Smith Sr. North Georgia Lexington, Ga.
UT Megan Russell Sr. Indianapolis Indianapolis, Ind.

Honorable Mention

P Camille Gaito California-San Diego
P Sarah Goetzinger Wayen State (Neb.)
P Kayla Jackson Arkansas-Monticello
P Ashley Jones Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.)
P Christie Robinson Metro State (Colo.)
C Sarah Atkins Lenoir-Rhyne (N.C.)
C Kacie Easley Angelo State (Texas)
1B Jaycee Lovato Adams State (Colo.)
1B Katherine Martin North Georgia
2B Anna Bjorlin Concordia-St. Paul (Minn.)
2B Shantae Hunter Dixie State (Utah)
3B Nicole Downs New Haven (Conn.)
3B Nikki Shiko Bloomsburg (Pa.)
SS Christie Softy C.W. Post (N.Y.)
SS Amber Roundtree Metro State (Colo.)
OF Meagan Bailey St. Edward's (Texas)
OF Erin Gregory Quincy (Ill.)
OF Brittany Gross Lynn (Fla.)
OF Pilar Harden North Georgia
OF Jessica Hernandez Nova Southeastern (Fla.)
DP Justine Bosio Colorado State-Pueblo
DP Erin Leslie Northwest Missouri
UT Dre Brunskill Mary (S.D.)
UT Nicole Pitcock Shepherd (W. Va.)

Printable VersionOpen As Word Bookmark and Share
Palm Beach Atlantic UniversitySunshine State ConferenceNCAA Division IIATHLETICSITE.COM Partner